

NEW MEMBERS FOR CANADA'S AVIATION HALL OF FAME

November 8, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame (CAHF) is pleased to announce its 2025 Inductees. Nominated by their peers, they represent an impressively wide spectrum of achievement that has left an indelible mark on our nation's aviation landscape.

The 2025 Inductees to Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame are:

Bruce Aubin, for his life-long contributions to the aviation industry and the advancement of more efficient maintenance and improved aircraft safety;

Tracy Medve, for her contributions to the development of the business of aviation in Canada, including her leadership at Canadian North and KF Aerospace;

Calin Rovinescu, for his many contributions to air transportation in Canada and internationally, including his leadership at Air Canada;

Max Shapiro, for his contributions spanning a career that began with bush flying in north-west Ontario to the management and sale of Voyageur Airways, a premier Canadian airline.

CAHF is also pleased to present its **Belt of Orion Award for Excellence** to the **Defence and Civil Institute of Environmental Medicine**. The Institute, one of Canada's most significant research establishments, was a world leader in innovation related to the protection and performance of humans in aviation and aerospace.

These remarkable individuals and organizations will be formally inducted at CAHF's annual ceremony, scheduled for **September 4**th, **2025** in Calgary. The event celebrates outstanding accomplishments in aviation and aerospace and unites aviation enthusiasts, industry leaders, and the families and friends of the year's Inductees.

ABOUT CANADA'S AVIATON HALL OF FAME

- Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame is dedicated to honouring the exceptional individuals and organizations that have made invaluable contributions to Canadian aviation and aerospace.
- Founded in 1973, over 600 people attended its inaugural ceremony in 1974, which inducted all Companions of the Order of Icarus; all those awarded the Trans-Canada McKee Trophy; all aerial recipients of the Victoria Cross; Alexander Graham Bell, J.A.D. McCurdy, and F.W. Casey Baldwin; and Group Captain John E. Fauquier and Flight Lieutenant George 'Buzz' Beurling. Since then, the Hall has inducted more than 250 members and has presented its



Belt of Orion Award for Excellence to nearly 30 deserving groups. Collectively, theirs is an enduring legacy of outstanding achievement.

- The induction process begins with open nominations. Canadians, and aviation community generally, are critical to this process without nominations the Hall could not recognize the achievements of Canadian innovators, mentors, and leaders.
- Criteria for nomination are simple: unselfish contributions to aviation and aerospace, which
 have been of major benefit to Canada, and which have stood the test of time. To learn more
 please visit https://cahf.ca/nominate/.
- Submitted applications are reviewed by a confidential, arm's length committee that scores and recommends to the Hall the candidates meriting induction. Successful nominees are announced following each year's induction ceremony.
- A national institution, the Hall is Alberta based. In 2022, it relocated from Wetaskiwin to the Hangar Flight Museum, a premier aviation museum in Calgary. For the first time in its history, the Hall is housed at a dedicated aviation facility, and one located adjacent to an international hub: Calgary's international airport.
- Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame represents more than past achievements. It is a dynamic
 institution that seeks to inspire the next generation of aviation enthusiasts by honouring the
 extraordinary achievements from the past, present, and future of aviation innovation and
 excellence in Canadian aviation and aerospace.